top of page

Principal Investigator

Shibdas Banerjee (a.k.a Monon)

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) Tirupati

  • Associate Professor, IISER Tirupati (July 2022 -)

  • Assistant Professor, IISER Tirupati (August 2017 - July 2022)

  • Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Stanford University, USA (July 2014 - July 2017),

       Mentor: Prof. Richard N. Zare

  • Visiting Fellow, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) Mumbai (February-May 2014) 

  • Ph.D., Chemical Sciences, TIFR Mumbai (August 2008 - January 2014), 

       Supervisor: Prof. Shyamalava Mazumdar

  • M.Sc., Chemistry, IIT Roorkee, India (2008)

  • B.Sc., Chemistry Hons. University of Calcutta, Kolkata, India (2006) 

Field of Specialization

Biochemistry, Imaging Mass Spectrometry, Clinical Metabolomics and Diagnostics, Mechanistic Organic Chemistry, Microdroplet Chemistry, and Analytical Methodology Development.


Honors and Awards

  • Shimadzu Young Scientist Award-GOLD from Asia Pacific (2014)

  • Ramanujan Fellowship (2018)

  • Early Career Research Award from SERB, DST, Govt. of India (2019)

  • Visiting Assistant Professor, Stanford University, USA (2019)

  • 2022 ACES-CRSI Early Career Award (2022)

  • Merck Young Scientist Award (runner-up) (2023)

  • Thieme Chemistry Journals Award (2024)

  • Early Career Board of Analytical Chemistry, American Chemical Society (2024-2026)

Shibdas Banerjee_2022.jpg

Ph.D. students


Supratim Mondal

M.Sc. in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Calcutta (U.C.S.T.A) in 2017

CSIR JRF Rank- 39 (June 2017)



Anubhav Kumar

BS-MS in Chemical Sciences from Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Kolkata in 2018

DST Inspire Fellow



Abhijit Nandy

M.Sc. in Chemical Sciences from Presidency University, Kolkata in 2020

Prime Minister's Research Fellow (PMRF) (from 2022) 

CSIR-JRF Rank- 43 (2020)


Pragya Pahchan_2029.jpg

Pragya Pahchan

iPhD Fellow


B.Sc. in Zoology, Banaras Hindu University (2016-2019)

CSIR-JRF Rank- 85 (2019, Life Sciences)

DBT-JRF (BET 2022)



Geetha Dande


M.Sc. in Organic Chemistry, Sri Venkateswara University College of Sciences Tirupati (2018-2020)

CSIR-JRF Rank- 107 (June 2021)



Barsha Pathak

iPhD Fellow


B.Sc. from Bankura Christian College, West Bengal (2021)



Sourik Chakrabarti


M.Sc. in Chemistry, IIEST Shibpur (2020-2022)


MS Thesis student


Hariharan T

MS Thesis student (2023-2024)

BS-MS (2019-2024) at IISER Tirupati


SBLab Alumni


Debajit Laha

Project Fellow (2021-2022)

M.Sc. in Chemistry

Currently at Lupin Limited

Sutirtha (2).jpg

Sutirtha Chattopadhyay

MS Thesis student (2021-2022)

BS-MS (2017-2022), IISER Tirupati 

Currently at Klinikum rechts der Isar der Technischen Universität München, Germany


Dr. Yeswanth Sthanikam

Postdoctoral Fellow (2019-2021)

PhD in Biotechnology, SVIMS Tirupati

ICON 2020 (1).jpg

Mithlesh Prasad Singh

Project Fellow (2021-2022)

M.Tech. in AI and ML 

Currently at NTNU, Norway


Akhila Ajith

MS Thesis student (2020-2021)

BS-MS (2016-2021), IISER Tirupati 

Currently at The University of Manchester, UK

Uddshya Pandey.jpg

Uddeshya Pandey

MS Thesis student (2022-2023)

BS-MS Biology major (2018-2023)

IISER Tirupati

Currently at Utrecht University,



Veena Shankar Avadhani

MS Thesis student (2020-2021)

BS-MS (2016-2021), IISER Tirupati 

Currently at UC Berkley, USA


Purva Shripad Damale

MS Thesis student (2021-2022)

BS-MS (2017-2022), IISER Tirupati 

Currently at The Ohio State University, USA


PhD and Postdoctoral positions will be available in our group soon. Interested and motivated candidates can check our Institute website regularly for that.


For collaborations, questions, and job opportunities in our group, please contact us at

NOTE: We do not have positions open for the temporary/summer/thesis internships. Please do not apply for the same.

bottom of page